Mexico Dreaming

“if you keep a green bough in your heart, then the singing bird will come” –  chinese proverb

December and now January have been very rainy, dark with only the odd day of sunshine. After the busy days of December, January can sometimes feel like a very long month-my younger self kept busy with working on my resolutions and the writing of thank you notes for holiday gifts that may have come my way. Adult me no longer writes out a resolution list though I still send out the odd thank you card so my January days unfold waiting for me to colour them in.

I find that soothing rituals add a richness to days that make one want to hibernate; I enjoy waking up, opening the blinds and sitting with my steaming cup of tea looking out our living room windows (whatever the weather!) and planning my day. If I’ve booked meet ups or have appointments or I’ve picked up some work, I plan moments around those blocks of time. I always make sure there are pockets of time to take a walk, phone a friend or my parents and hopefully a moment to buy a hot chocolate! I’m known for tweaking our space with other found moments; keeping clutter at bay, organizing our home with the template of our Mexico spaces in my mind’s eye and making sure there is space for creativity. A new ritual goal for me is to carve out time to break open my adult colouring book (a gift from my Mom), I can see myself sitting at my desk in our livingroom with a cup of tea or a glass of wine, I’m sure it will bring back those happy memories of colouring for hours as a child. Until then, I will be Mexico dreaming, chasing down the green (keeping my eyes out for snowdrops, crocuses, the blooming winter heather and all matter of blooming bushes) and counting down to those early days of Spring-like weather and wouldn’t you know it, today is one of those days! The sun is out and this morning I heard a Northern Flicker calling out for a mate, drumming his beak on  a metal balcony railing near our apartment building, it looks like the dark days of January are waning and perhaps I can indulge in some Vancouver dreaming!

Journal Entry: January 06th, 2000

Today has been a quiet day. Yesterday we caught the Mismaloya bus and headed for lunch in the jungle. I had heard about a new restaurant called “El Nogalito”,  located in an outdoor tropical setting.

There is a nice long walk by a small river to get there; we were surprised and scared when two or three wild cows with very long horns came out of the dense palms with a Mexican farmer, right towards us, as we began our walk, but thankfully with skill they bypassed us! We also passed several homes, it looks like a new community is being built in this peaceful area. The restaurant is very simple, the food pricey and the presentation could have been more thoughtful but a Sol beer rounded out our chicken fajitas. The setting, however, is very beautiful, there is lots of green foliage, flowers and the beginning of the river-while eating I could hear it rushing over the rocks.

We saw many tropical birds in colours of black and yellow, black and dark blue (blue jays) and I saw a small, golden-eyed brown owl. I flushed him out of his hiding place so Terry could see him, too. The restaurant had some resident parrots and love birds as well. We also saw a very pretty lime green iguana. All in all, it was a very nice outing.

Another beautiful lunch spot at the Vallarta Botanical Gardens

Another beautiful lunch spot at the Vallarta Botanical Gardens

 

About anotetohuguette

I'm currently blogging from the beautiful West Coast city of Vancouver, British Columbia - a vibrant city by the sea, surrounded by mountains and a very unique urban forest.
This entry was posted in journaling, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mexico Dreaming

  1. Made in Rome says:

    Awesome picture. Makes me want to run away and go live on a mountain.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for checking out my blog & commenting! This spot is so beautiful, the mountains seem to go on forever, I’m glad the picture took you on a journey, I try to do that with my words and having pictures to share helps as well. Cheers!

      Like

  2. Shirley says:

    Love the Chinese proverb. Of course this is true and as our planet needs healing, the boughs are needed more, and the birds will come. I dream of South Africa , the beautiful scenery, animals, the people. One picture of a Lion, will make my day special. I shall try and make my bough longer, so more birds can gather, and peace prevail. Mom.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I dream of Africa, too and would love to see the “greens” there, they are so different from our West Coast/Rainforest greens – I imagine such a trip would change us in ways we can only imagine! We’ve set the intention now, let’s see what happens next…

      Like

  3. ugetse says:

    Our January has been very dark indeed this year with so many friends suffering. But yes let’s always keep a green space in our hearts for the birds to come singing. Kim, keep your rituals, your dreams and creations in that space. We can see them blooming. Thanks for another great note.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much for your words, darkness and light go hand in hand, it is up to us to seek balance between the two and creating space for this brings a measure of peace to us as we make our way and as our friend James reminds us, we are not alone on this journey – I’m glad to count you among so many on this road with me!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. AgingGracefullyIam.com says:

    As one who’s experienced darkness and then sought out light, I realized that light casts shadows. It’s something I’m fond of saying because I think those shadows at depth.

    Like

    • I love this, you are right, we can try to find balance between light and dark but must not forget the reality of shadows, they can be a bridge between the two and sometimes we must travel there as well. Thank you (always) for your thoughtful words, Katherine, you are another wonderful neighbour!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I'd Love to Hear From You

