The Way Is Love, Part 2

The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.” – Alan Watts

The last days of summer are upon us and I have made it through that moment where I want these warm days to stay forever, like insects caught in amber. It helps if the days leading up to the equinox are sunny and bright – I can look out and not mind a blue sky full of cotton candy white clouds or the odd tree bare of leaves. There is still time to buy those last ice cream cones, indulge in the glorious canvas created each evening by the setting sun and the last weekend days of the Farmer’s Market.

Change is in the air and I’ve already joined the dance! There is fall travel to look forward to and I’ve bought a brand new notebook from the corner store ( a nod to those heading back to school!) to house my scribbles that find their way into my posts. One of my fall goals is to tackle reading the Harry Potter books, I’ve watched the films many times over and somehow missed picking up that first book which I’ve almost finished reading. J. K. Rowling’s words are a joy to read and I’m looking forward to starting the second book – her words the perfect companions as the days become shorter.

We live in a kaleidoscope world full of constantly changing patterns, both revealing and erasing present moments, which we try to capture with our pens/paintbrushes, keystrokes or cameras. There is an inner knowing that these moments may not come our way again. I felt this as I was writing my original post, “The Way Is Love”, there was a desire to capture the essence of a love story as it was happening and not write my story from memory. And I’m glad I did – the love story’s dream-like pattern has changed; the slender, older woman who was met by her beloved every early morning in our back alley, walks alone now. I was saddened to hear that he passed away not long ago from a cancer that came back charging into his life, leaving her to make her way home without his guiding presence. I’m pleased to write that we do run into each other often and she is slowly making her way, I have told her that her love story made it’s way into my blog and I hope it brings her some comfort.

Part two of this story is a reminder that there is another way to travel, we can choose to walk on the path of life even if we find ourselves alone – life is right here in front of us in all it’s technicolour glory, it is not meant to be put away for a rainy day or worried over because fall is coming, it is meant to be lived one exquisite moment at a time.

Love is in the air on Lost Lagoon in Stanley Park (Vancouver, B.C.).

Love is in the air on Lost Lagoon in Stanley Park (Vancouver, B.C.).

Beautiful fall colour captured in Stanley Park (Vancouver, B.C.).

Beautiful fall colour captured in Stanley Park (Vancouver, B.C.).

A perfect kaleidoscope pattern of Autumn leaves in Stanley Park (Vancouver, B.C.)

A perfect kaleidoscope pattern of Autumn leaves in Stanley Park (Vancouver, B.C.)

Journal Entry: September 22, 2006 – Riu Jalisco Resort, Nayarit, Mexico

Going into Puerto Vallarta was a welcome break; the bustle of the small city, the ever-bright colours and familiar sights reminded me of a truer Mexico than the fantasy Mexico of resort living. We went on a long walk from the small bus depot near the Paloma del Mar hotel to the zocolo for a restroom break at city hall. We then walked to Cafe San Angel for a cold Corona and Pacifico. We noticed some dramatic changes, Hidalgo Park had indeed become an underground parking lot as we were told it would in 2004/2005. Originally it was a wild green space with a colourful, thriving market. As well, Lazaro Cardenas park is now in the process of becoming another underground parking area – there is a huge hole in the landscape, there is no more green oasis to enjoy before one heads towards Olas Altas!

Love is the way in the beautiful Vallarta Botanical Gardens, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

Love is the way in the beautiful Vallarta Botanical Gardens, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

The new and improved Lazaro Cardenas park near Olas Altas, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

The new and improved Lazaro Cardenas park near Olas Altas, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

 

About anotetohuguette

I'm currently blogging from the beautiful West Coast city of Vancouver, British Columbia - a vibrant city by the sea, surrounded by mountains and a very unique urban forest.
This entry was posted in journaling, life, memoir, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Way Is Love, Part 2

  1. Wonderful read and beautifully narrated.

    I loved this line, “We live in a kaleidoscope world full of constantly changing patterns, both revealing and erasing present moments, which we try to capture with our pens/paintbrushes, keystrokes or cameras.”

    Such lovely moments a traveler can seek and enjoy every moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shirley Ross says:

    The change from Summer to Fall is almost upon us. I noticed the difference this morning, making my way in downtown Vancouver. The street people, sleeping on concrete are now using newspapers to try and find warmth ,laying the papers down, trying to keep cozy. Clouds in the sky, like puffs of seeded dandelions blowing across the chilly blue sky.
    Change is almost dichromatic, seeing past and present splayed before us. The darling lady, making her journey alone, a big change, brave. May we all find change euphoric , and dance to the rhythm of the clouds, and be brave.
    :Love Mom.
    P.S. A great piece of writing.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. A beautifully written post much enjoyed. I love the change of seasons and the prospect of new beginnings.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ugetse says:

    Oh Kim …touching words about this lovely woman who has just lost her love one. For sure your words were like a bandaid on her heart. You always find the right things to say. Yes let’s continue to live every moment without thinking of tomorrow. Tomorrow is today. Love you dear neighbour.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Vernon says:

    Hi Kim,
    Life is right in front of us and we can see change in the air. But this post should help us change inside.
    It’s wonderful to hear how you helped someone through grief.
    All she needed at the time was someone to listen to her changing season.
    Thanks for a touching story.
    I seen you over at Nikki party…
    Vernon

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for this, Vernon, I really appreciate your thoughtful comments, it’s so encouraging! I enjoyed wandering through some new blogs this past weekend and I’m glad I dropped in to Nikki’s party (my first!). I will drop by and visit your blog soon. Take care!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi, nice meeting you through this party. My sister and family used to live in Vancouver, BC. I visited them a couple time. One time was during new year and I waiting the people doing Bear Jump. Forgot if that’s the way you call it. Please come and visit my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Life is to be lived one moment at a time. I agree to this, but we have been so much in a rush in our lives that we have forgotten to cherish small yet beautiful moments in our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Suzanne Duval says:

    Kim, you are a poet. I love this blog on changing seasons. Autumn has something so special. The smell of the earth, the change in the magnificient trees makes us human believe in miracle and mystery.

    Thank you for your beautiful writing.

    Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I'd Love to Hear From You

