Making Contact

My eyes are always drawn to the

inscrutable face of the moon,

found easily as she sits in the night sky

alien and ever illuminating,

holding her secrets close, draped in mystery – 

Found if I follow the silver-lit path

revealed by her bright celestial light

on the surface of the dark sea.

Reminding me that we are not other,

we are made of starlight,  forever

connected in the cosmos

flying through space with the

hum of eternity in our souls. 

Climbing up to the moon - a series of bronze statues located on the malecon in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

Climbing up to the moon – a series of bronze statues located on the malecon in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

About anotetohuguette

I'm currently blogging from the beautiful West Coast city of Vancouver, British Columbia - a vibrant city by the sea, surrounded by mountains and a very unique urban forest.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Making Contact

  1. This reminds me of the song, Ma Belle Evangeline.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shirley Ross says:

    Deep inside a knowledge, that the stars are my true home
    an echo in my heart
    that reverberates , a known…..
    where space and time unite and restrictions are unknown.
    Evening time as twinkling lights appear above my head
    I feel the love and kindness
    a place I used to tread,
    I have been told I did exist from deep on ocean floors
    but I only have to gaze up high,
    And I remember home.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. This is a beauty. The last line, ‘hum of eternity in our souls’ says the truth.

    Wonderful imagery of the night sky and every line of the poem travels through the eternity of cosmos.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. ugetse says:

    Omg. I was looking at the moon from my window and I just stumble on your note to me. . Sublime. Yes I do love your poetry. I also love your mom’s poem. You are both gifted writers. I love the moon .so much. I always gaze at it with awe. It must be home as your mom say so well. Huguette,

    Liked by 2 people

    • I knew that you would be watching the moon and I hoped that my poem would convey the mystery that one feels when looking at the moon. For my Mom, I wrote about starlight and the cosmos as she often says that she is not truly home until she returns to the stars. My post has 2 more beautiful poems added to it and I love the community that we have here in our blogging/instagram worlds. Thank you for your wonderful comments (always!), Huguette!

      Like

  5. This is a beautiful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful poem. It does give one a feeling of belonging to the universe.
    I am a Moon Child, born in June under the sign of Cancer. I am by no means as good a poet as you or your mom, but, I dabble in it occasionally. Here is one you might like.

    The blistering summer sun
    gives way to the night.
    I can smell the honey suckle
    and gardenia wafting in the night air.
    The heavens open up and the stars
    make their appearance.
    The nightingale croons its’ song to me.
    The crickets join the chorus.
    The grass is cool beneath my feet
    the hustle and bustle of the hot summer …
    day gives way to the heavens above.
    I look up and the moon smiles at me.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Yvonne says:

    Hey Kim,
    I may not respond often but I am reading and I want you to know your beautiful symphony of words are a healing touch to me many times over.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Zee says:

    This is so so beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Genie says:

    ~ Exquisite ~

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Elorm says:

    Absolutely beautiful! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I'd Love to Hear From You

