Food Poetry

It was a long while before I took a chance

to taste the dirt umbrellas of my youth

as they sat there on the plate in

their dung coloured glory, swimming in

the pale liquid of their demise.

It was easier to gulp down the

sharp sweetness of the addictive toxic squares

that greeted my mornings,

to savour the sting of artifice

in the quiet moments before school.

A Farmer's Market found in a forest off a country road near the town of St. Jacobs in Ontario, Canada.

A Farmer’s Market found in a forest off a country road near the town of St. Jacobs in Ontario, Canada.

I wanted to share a poem that I wrote at the workshop I attended recently (on Food Poetry) at the “West End Food Festival” here in Vancouver, B.C. We were challenged to change the name of common foods in our poems and as a group we came up with some pretty interesting new names – I chose to write about ” dirt umbrellas/mushrooms” and “addictive toxic squares/pop tarts” as well as try to capture a childhood memory!

About anotetohuguette

I'm currently blogging from the beautiful West Coast city of Vancouver, British Columbia - a vibrant city by the sea, surrounded by mountains and a very unique urban forest.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Food Poetry

  1. Shirley Ross says:

    Love this, brings back memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Truly Urquhart says:

    Oh, my gosh…this is wonderful…I’ve read nothing like it…what a fantastic approach to creative writing…you have a wonderful imagination and capacity for abstract thinking…this was utterly delightful! Also, I love St. Jacobs. Thanks for sharing šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a thrill to read your encouraging words, I was hesitant to post this poem – it was written in the space of just a few minutes and I left it in it’s raw state! After reading your words, I’m glad I did, thank you so much!

      Like

  3. I love poetry and I love food so this was absolutely brilliant! And the workshop sounds really cool

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! This is wonderful. The rush of sweet childhood memories served on a platter of the most amazing, colorful food of young life gone by. The very thought brings a smile:))))

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ugetse says:

    Oh Kim, How wonderfully visual this epicurean voyage from childhood to now. Bravo. Love the pumpkins too. Glad that you are back in Vancouver. Big hug dear neighbour and big love too.ā¤ļøšŸŒ¹

    Liked by 1 person

  6. michnavs says:

    Glad to see you back again..i must say its been a while..

    I love this one…beautiful imagery..

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Rachel McKee says:

    I knew exactly what you were talking about with “dirt umbrellas ” lolol šŸ‘ŒšŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is awesome! Very unique. Thank you for sharing. Many blessings šŸ’š

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I'd Love to Hear From You

