Holiday Field Notes

I’m re-blogging this very seasonal post as a shout-out to the volunteer firemen/women who spend countless hours creating the magic that is our “Bright Nights” display in beautiful Stanley Park – it opened at the beginning of this week and I’m looking forward to walking through it once again!

anotetohuguette

 The walls and ceiling were so hung with living green that it looked a perfect grove, from every part of which bright gleaming berries glistened. The crisp leaves of holly, mistletoe and ivy reflected back the light, as if so many little mirrors had been scattered there.” – Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol

The above quote reminds me that I’m a “crow person” at heart, I’m forever chasing all flashes or glimmers of light. At this time of year, here in the West End, with the holiday season upon us, my eyes are happy to take it all in.

For me, it usually begins with that first sighting of apartment windows decorated in colourful lights and my bed left unmade on the day Terry and I  make our way into the park to our summer picnic area at the Railway Concession. It is here where the many volunteer…

View original post 481 more words

About anotetohuguette

I'm currently blogging from the beautiful West Coast city of Vancouver, British Columbia - a vibrant city by the sea, surrounded by mountains and a very unique urban forest.
This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holiday Field Notes

  1. Ugetse says:

    Oh Kim, i love your enchanting heart. You always find magic in everything you do and see. It is so heartwarming. Your writing is exquisite, so are the Christmas lights in the park. Love your vignette on Mexico. I feel that I am there with you. Thank you for all these beautiful moments. Love you lots❤️😘✨🎉 Huguette.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Winter is but a breath away and my eyes are always seeking the beauty that is all around us, having that gorgeous light display at our doorstep is always inspiring – I’m looking forward to sharing a walk with you there soon (my Mom & I will be checking them out soon as well!). Happy December 1st, dear neighbour!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello! I “met” you at Mackenzie’s Minger & Jingle! Beautiful thoughts here- I will make a cup of coffee later today and read more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I'd Love to Hear From You

