Lost In The Wonder

It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” – J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Monday’s snow day was the first significant snowfall in 1,000 days (as reported by several news stations), the large fluffy flakes lazily twisting and turning outside the windows mesmerized me in between routine domestic chores devoid of that fairy-tale glamour. The bottlebrush forest, so dark green in colour it almost appears black on most days, began to wear a mantle of pure white and blend in with the snow-capped mountains behind. In no time at all, my surroundings were beginning to look like a winter wonderland and nostalgic greeting card all rolled into one.

Today this part of the world is expected to receive another wave of snow starting (possibly!) in the early evening – it has been bitterly cold these last few days and once familiar places are now touched by icy fingers. Holiday lights strung on balconies and hung in windows twinkle like frozen crystals underneath the clear sky, their bright colours adding a cheerful note to the pale palette left by the snow. Earlier, as I was sitting on the couch and writing down some thoughts, a seagull came by for a visit – he stood for the longest time on the balcony railing, one leg tucked up under his wing (to keep his webbed foot warm, no doubt) and just stared longingly into our apartment, I felt so bad and hope he has found some comfort elsewhere.

A cold has befallen me as I write of snow and ice, thank goodness for warm mugs of tea and a cozy blanket – there is too much wonder out there and I can hardly wait to walk again by the seawall at twilight, to feel the hush among the shadows as I make my way to the very large holiday-lit tree, to once again feel its sheltering warmth. To walk the trails of the forest, lingering near fragrant cedar trees listening for the call of eagle, raven and crow. To find myself, once again, lost in the wonder…

Wonder is but a moment away - this is a very cool shot taken underneath the Pipeline Road bridge in Stanley Park (Vancouver, B.C.)

Wonder is but a moment away – this is a very cool shot taken underneath the Pipeline Road bridge in Stanley Park (Vancouver, B.C.)

This is the way to the trail (off the seawall) that takes one to underneath the Pipeline Road bridge in Stanley Park - this is where part of the first movie, "It" was filmed!

This is the way to the trail (off the seawall) that takes one to underneath the Pipeline Road bridge in Stanley Park – this is where part of the first movie, “It” was filmed!

The first snowfall in 1,000 days in Stanley Park (Vancouver, B.C.).

The first snowfall in 1,000 days in Stanley Park (Vancouver, B.C.).

Journal Entry: December 24, 2004 – Paloma del Mar Hotel on Calle Honduras (Puerto Vallarta, Mexico)

While on our balcony, I’ve been able to watch the Mexican people buying their pinatas  for the holidays. There is a sweet store at the corner selling them in all kinds of shapes and colours. Every time I have a peek, there is a new one hanging underneath their awning, swaying gently in the breeze. The air is full of woodsmoke as everyone starts preparing for the holiday, there are gatherings on rooftops, in parking spaces and backyards as well as in courtyards. It’s exciting to experience the holiday season in another country, I remember Guanajuato very fondly. It’s getting cool out – we may walk to the malecon tonight and I think I will be wearing my cargo pants.

Writing of Mexico and seeing these dear daffodils blooming in December reminds me that spring is just around the corner (Stanley Park, Vancouver, B.C.).

Writing of Mexico and seeing these dear daffodils blooming in December reminds me that spring is just around the corner (Stanley Park, Vancouver, B.C.).

 

About anotetohuguette

I'm currently blogging from the beautiful West Coast city of Vancouver, British Columbia - a vibrant city by the sea, surrounded by mountains and a very unique urban forest.
This entry was posted in blog, journaling, life, memoir, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Lost In The Wonder

  1. Yvette says:

    W❤️W… You really captured this beautiful festive season. My heart feels like going out and dance. Thank you for another lovely note. Hope you are keeping warm and cozy. Take care of your throat. Beautiful photos also. Warm and loving wishes. Huguette❤️🎄🎉xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Huguette (Yvette)! I’m so happy you caught the spirit of this piece and enjoyed the photos. My words have come to life outside my window (again!), it’s amazing how snow changes the familiar into something other…

      Like

  2. Shirley Ross says:

    Snowflakes falling ,feeling touches of velvet,
    quietly ,silently onto my balcony….
    Cautiously as if to ask permission,
    and I nod my head .
    Drawing me in, feeling wonder at the dance
    of its creation beauty in every flake.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. markmkane says:

    Wow Kimberlee, thanks for painting that beautiful description. I can only experience a snowy winter vicariously through other people’s firsthand accounts, just one of the pitfalls of living here in Hawaii. Sometimes I wish I could see the distinct changes in the seasons.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, I appreciate reading your comments and I’m happy that you enjoyed this wintry piece! I have many fond memories of visiting Oahu and spent a lovely week on Maui (and did not want to leave!). I did not write any journal notes on these visits but a memoir piece might be an idea for a future post. Thanks for the inspiration!

      Like

  4. paintdigi says:

    Good posts, beautiful blog.
    Congratulations.
    Welcome to see my creations:
    http://paintdigi.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This paints such an inviting picture, and is the warmest I’ve felt when reading about the cold….your written word is such a gift….such beautiful and evocative writing…this was such a joy to read…thanks fr sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. michnavs says:

    I live in a tropical country…where winter is obviously not goin to happen..

    Having said that i always enjoy reading posts or articles about snow…winter…icy cold temperature..snowflakes…as your post just caotured it exactly as i have always envisioned it to be..thanks for sharing ….you help me fill up again my bucket of “winter wonderland ideas”…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jade M. Wong says:

    Love your photos! And the Harry Potter quote 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Rachel McKee says:

    “I can hardly wait to walk again by the seawall at twilight, to feel the hush among the shadows as I make my way to the very large holiday-lit tree, to once again feel its sheltering warmth.” I love this line in-particular.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I'd Love to Hear From You

