A Love Letter to Vinyl…

I could not resist re-blogging this beautiful piece of writing that reminds us to create some sacred space to simply be…jamesradcliffe.com…a blog I return to again and again!

JamesRadcliffe.com

For Christmas this year I received a turntable, some speakers, and a few hand-picked records – I’d been thinking of starting a vinyl collection for a while and had decided to take the plunge.

There was something exciting about opening that first record; about feeling the transparent wrap tearing back beneath my fingers, flexing the cover, sliding out the white paper sleeve, and tipping the solid black disc onto my palm.  It had a surprising weight to it.  It smelled new.  It felt fragile.  It felt precious.  Music as a real and tangible artifact.

I’d like to say it was the first needle drop that brought the quiet revelation, but that came later.  In the moment there was just the pop and hiss of blank space and then, of course, the music.

But something was different.

After I put the first record on, I sat back on my sofa and…

View original post 431 more words

About anotetohuguette

I'm currently blogging from the beautiful West Coast city of Vancouver, British Columbia - a vibrant city by the sea, surrounded by mountains and a very unique urban forest.
This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Love Letter to Vinyl…

  1. I read it, loved it, I’m “following” him…thanks for sharing, my friend. I miss your writings, but I’m grateful that you continue to share…you are just wonderful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I'd Love to Hear From You

