Deep Water

I find myself in deeper water lately

no longer on the shore, 

bare toes finding purchase upon cool sand,

instead I’m treading luminous blue

hoping with each breath that I don’t drown.

Drown among the slippery tendrils of seaweed

in colours of darkest green and brown,

eyes wide open,

adjusting to the undulating new world before me,

my last breath stretching to eternity.

But wait, I’ve been here before – 

floating in deep water, safe in my mother’s womb

the ebb and flow cradling me,

as I wait for light to cleave the water,

allowing me to surface to take that first breath again.

Deep water capture – a shot of Pacific Sea Nettles (jellyfish) taken at the Vancouver Aquarium in Stanley Park (Vancouver, B.C.).

About anotetohuguette

I'm currently blogging from the beautiful West Coast city of Vancouver, British Columbia - a vibrant city by the sea, surrounded by mountains and a very unique urban forest.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Deep Water

  1. Tanya Cliff says:

    I loved this! You used wonderful imagery through the piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aeshwarya says:

    It’s beautiful! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandra Leigh says:

    Thank you! Beautiful imagery (adjusting to the undulating new world before me)
    and of course I love the depth, the seaweed and colour, painting the scene.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Mackenzie says:

    This resonated with me deeply. I am on the precipice of a new stage of life and I feel like I’ve been swimming in the blue for a while and now am trying to find my legs again and stand on my own, facing the world. Thank you for sharing your heart through your beautiful writing, Kimberlee!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. markmkane says:

    Kimberlee, I am utterly speechless with this post. I can clearly see the imagery you paint as I read your elegant and descriptive words. I am truly fascinated at how you conjure up these scenes in your mind’s eye and transpose them onto the computer. You really have a gift for writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I found this absolutely lovely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such beautiful imagery. I loved this. It resonated with my Piscean personality. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh, my gosh….this is so breathtaking (seriously, no pun intended). I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again–you are, without fail, one of my all-time favorite writers! And, I can’t believe you used the word “cleave”–as did I (for the first time, ever….I’d heard it before, obviously…but, it popped into my consciousness as I crafted my post…I mention this in reference to your comment on my post..)
    Anyway, thanks for sharing your incredible giftedness 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jade M. Wong says:

    Such a lovely poem 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You are indeed so talented to bring alive the picture of the deep waters, your misery and your realization. Beautiful, Kim!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ugetse says:

    Hi Kim, sorry I am late in commenting your post. As you know , my new IPad did not let me go in your blog. I forgot my password and it was difficult to log back in. Again I am totally mesmerized by your poem. Wish I could write like you. . Thank you for your continuous sharing to me and the world your lovely writing. Big hug. Huguette ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Wow, that is deep and powerful … something so flowing about life coming full circle. Like a virtual circle of loving. Blessings to you in all ways! Love, Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Miriam says:

    What a beautiful poem and sentiments I can fully relate to, having just taken a big leap into a new job. So lovely to meet you Kim. Your blog is just gorgeous. Cheers from down under.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Elorm Yankah says:

    I can definitely identify with that feeling of drowning and being lost. You illustrated it with your words beautifully!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I'd Love to Hear From You

