Realm

Tell me, please, where do you dwell?

Is it between soundbites and currency

struggling to find your place, your very breath

at the edges of the life you were meant to live?

Is it between the messy earthly imperfection

and heavenly crystalline perfection just out of reach

or do you dwell in between 

the inhalations of your child, each breath a reminder

that time is slipping by much too fast?

As for me, I dwell in the fairy-tale pages of books,

where the printed words are often faded

or missing altogether, the corners turned down

to mark a special place.

I walk the borders of my land there,

the edge of my gown damp from the cold winter ground,

my home, a ruined keep, a dark smudge against the grey sky.

The hawks have fled this place

and there are rumors that a golden dragon has begun to stir.

It’s time to put away the pretty gowns

and don the tarnished armor I dropped so carelessly long ago,

this is where I dwell, in this realm of words and lines,

a place worth fighting for.

Tell me, please, where do you dwell?

A modern day castle (secret passages and all!), Casa Loma, located in the heart of Toronto, Ontario.

A modern day castle (secret passages and all!), Casa Loma, located in the heart of Toronto, Ontario.

About anotetohuguette

I'm currently blogging from the beautiful West Coast city of Vancouver, British Columbia - a vibrant city by the sea, surrounded by mountains and a very unique urban forest.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Realm

  1. Shirley Ross says:

    I dwell between the stars and the sea, shadows of comets
    flashing across the deep green waters
    Listening to the music that vibrates in the
    soul of my universe.
    The repetition of the waves on snarled rock and
    sandy beach
    The gulls and orcas that sing in the choir
    sounding mellifluous
    Guide me home…..a space traveller.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Sj says:

    Absolutely lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. markmkane says:

    WOW Kimberlee, that was truly deep and beautiful! You really have a gift for prose.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ugetse says:

    Absolutjy profond and captivating. Time to write a book. Have a great evening my dear friend and neighbour

    Like

  5. Brilliant piece of poetry, Kim. The question will lead towards the realm but along the way rich imagery and perceptions compels one to think.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Rachel McKee says:

    I’ve missed so many of your wonderful posts during my hiatus. It is a treat to catch up though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I'd Love to Hear From You

