Sea Change

It’s the one year anniversary of the devastating Fort McMurray fire in the province of Alberta (Canada), the city is still in the process of rebuilding (as I write this note) from its terrible losses due to climate change…

anotetohuguette

If I can’t dance to it, it’s not my revolution.” – Emma Goldman

Drawn to a bench with a delicious honey ginger green tea overlooking the seawall and the postcard beauty of English Bay, I finally feel I can draw breath to write. I normally write at my desk in a corner of the apartment with its many views of West End life, the verdant lushness of Stanley Park and the still snow covered mountains but today the sea called to me. With the warm spring air all around me, it felt good to put pen to paper in my beloved New York city notebook and to let what words might come flow onto the lined paper.

It’s been an anxious week of hearing and seeing pictures on the news of the forest fire raging in Alberta, the province lying east of the majestic Rockies and our province, British…

View original post 880 more words

About anotetohuguette

I'm currently blogging from the beautiful West Coast city of Vancouver, British Columbia - a vibrant city by the sea, surrounded by mountains and a very unique urban forest.
This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sea Change

  1. Rachel McKee says:

    So sad. Your writing really drew me in to the devastation and the heartache.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such devastation in a short space of time. The residents will surely still be in shock. I was caught in a bog fire here in Ireland in 2003 and the house I was living would have been destroyed, had it not been for so many brave fire fighters….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I'd Love to Hear From You

